The future home of

Goodwill
Commercial
Services

a supplier to Cook Medical
The project began with a community clean up day.
About the Facility
A manufacturing facility is being built at the northwest corner of 38th Street and Sheridan Avenue. With an expected completion date of December 2021, the facility will bring jobs and educational opportunities to the community.

Employment and Education

The Goodwill Commercial Services facility will be registered as a medical device manufacturer with the FDA. The products to be manufactured include components of introducers, sheaths, drainage catheters, and needles. With this new location in Indianapolis, the project will bring 100 jobs to the community with the goal of hiring residents within the surrounding neighborhood. These jobs will be skilled manufacturing geared towards long-term employment and career fulfillment.

Goodwill will provide employees with wrap-around services for those who need them, including mental and physical health support, substance abuse support, soft skills training, and housing stabilization. Employees will also have access to free education from a high school diploma all the way up to a master’s degree. The goal is for 100% of construction to be performed by local minority-owned businesses.  

Financing and Ownership

Cook Medical is purchasing the property and donating it to the project, and Goodwill will manage the facility’s operation. The Central Indiana Community Foundation will own the facility on behalf of the community, allowing for excess funds to be used for community development.

Goodwill will employ approximately 100 employees to produce medical devices as a supplier for Cook Medical.

Project Information

Project Hours: 7am – 5pm
Project Completion Date: 12/31/2021

Approved General Contractors

Harmon Construction has been awarded as the General Contractor for this project.

Contractors

The project team is excited to report: 100% of the subcontract awards went to diverse MBE, WBE, and VBE firms. Of the 100% diverse participation: 97% of the subcontracting has been awarded to MBE, with 3% WBE and VBE.

Cook has partnered with The Darden Group, LLC, a women-owned minority business enterprise (W/MBE) and disabled business enterprise (DBE), to assist with achieving our vision and mission goals for minority participation, working closely with our local communities and partners. The Darden Group, LLC, will facilitate outreach events to assist with finding W/MBE contractors for the project.

Subcontractors

The following subcontractors have been awarded this project and have construction job opportunities available. Please reach out to the contacts below for more information.

Steel Fabrication
HG Metals
Tony Prachith
704-915-8817
tprachith@hgmetals.com
Site Work and Site Utilities
Fox Contractors
Brian Kochesperger
317-281-8963
bkochersperger@foxcontractors.com
Electrical, Low Voltage, Fire Alarm
Bobbitt Electrical
Bernard Bobbitt
317-797-6064
bernard@bobbittelectrical.net
Plumbing Mechanical
Sexson Mechanical
Corey Stein
317-989-5486
cstein@sexsonmechanical.com
Fire Protection
MultiCraft
Brian Funkhouser
812-336-5005
bfunk@multicraftdec.com
Drywall Assemblies Insulation
The Carpenter’s Son
Matt Cole
463-333-2031
matt@buildtcs.com
Masonry
Top Notch Masonry
Homer Sommerville
317-283-6629
topnotchbbs@aol.com
Fluid Air Barrier, Joint Sealants, Epoxy Flooring, Concrete Sealant
Robert Haines
Jim Pridgen
317-547-5271
jim@roberthainesco.com
TPO Roofing, Sheet Metal, Metal Wall Panels
Apogee
Matt Rosemond
765-810-3410
matt@buildapogee.com
Rough Carp, Doors & HW, OH Coiling Doors, Div 10 Install
Taylor Brother
Jeff Chandler
812-379-9547
jeff.chandler@tbcci.com
Casework & Counters
BC Countertops, Inc
Clay Hargitt
317-201-8354
clay@beyondcountertops.com
Glass, Glazing & Storefront
Architectural Glass and Metal
Jeff Hutson
317-472-7449
jhutson@agmcompany.com
Carpet & Resilient Floor and Base
Carpet Corner of Indianapolis
Gisa Ott
317-299-0541
gisa@cci-indy.net
Painting
STP Painting, Inc.
Kevin Hughes
317-250-5521
softtouch09@sbcglobal.net
Roller Shades
In Style Blinds, LLC
Jamie Leiker
317-219-6093
info@instyleblinds.net
Landscape & Irrigation
Mr. Green Jeans Landscape & Irrigation, LLC
William Petty
317-289-6801
william223petty@msn.com
Surveying & Staking
Schneider Geomatics
Jack Johnson
317-941-8976
Jjohnson@schneidergeomatics.com
General Contractor
Harmon Construction
Hailee Harmon
812-346-2048
Hailee.harmon@harmongroup.com
Steel Erection
Harmon Steel
Hailee Harmon
812-346-2048
Hailee.harmon@harmongroup.com
Concrete
Price Construction
Nick Price
(317) 723-3201
nprice@priceconstructiongroup.com

Construction Job Seekers

Click here to inquire about available construction jobs.

See Construction Jobs

Manufacturing Job Seekers

Click here to see open manufacturing jobs.

See manufacturing Jobs

The goal is to engage 100% minority owned contractors to build the facility.