The future home of

Indy Fresh
Market

38th Street Market will feature fresh produce for the community.
About the store
Indy Fresh Market, a new full-service grocery store, is being constructed near the manufacturing facility on 38th and Sheridan with expected completion in 2023. Not only will the store provide additional jobs and future educational opportunities for residents, but it will also bring a much-needed food source to the community.
Rendering of future grocery store at 38th and Sheridan

Location and Offerings

The new store will be located on 38th Street and Sheridan (near Arlington), right next to the new manufacturing facility. The store will be a full-service supermarket with over 14,000 square feet of space planned. 

Currently, there is no supermarket for miles in each direction and more area residents are on foot. To help make grocery items accessible to all residents, the market will accept most governmental food assistance programs (like WIC, SNAP, etc.), as well as local programs, like Fresh Bucks Indy, etc.

Financing and Ownership

Cook Medical will build the store and IMPACT Central Indiana will invest money to provide capital and inventory, as well as other local partners. The supermarket will be operated by neighborhood residents Michael McFarland and Marckus Williams, with the long-term goal for them to own 100% of the store operation and real estate using a rent-to-own model. The store will be designed to allow the owners to partner with local community food groups as they choose.

Project Milestones

Groundbreaking—October 20th, 2021
Construction begins—March/April 2022
Estimated completion—Early 2023
Open to the public—Winter 2023

Subcontractors

The following subcontractors have been awarded this project and have construction job opportunities available.

Storefronts, Glass, and Glazing
AGM - Architectural Glass & Metal
Jeff Hutson
317-472-7449
jhutson@agmcompany.com
Electrical
ATEC
Jim Bird
765-482-8926
j.bird@atec-electric.com


Drywall, Insulation, Acoustical Ceiling Panels
Difiniti Group
Guadaloupe Baldazo
317-496-0635
gb@difinitigroup.com
Carpentry, Doors/Frames/Hardware
Taylor Brothers
Josh Imlay
812-379-9547
josh.imlay@tbcci.com
Concrete
Price Construction
Nick Price
317-723-3201
nprice@priceconstructiongroup.com
Sealed Concrete Floors,
Joint Sealants
Robert Haines
Jim Pridgen
317-547-5271
jim@roberthainesco.com
Landscaping
Mr Green Jeans
William Petty
317-289-6801
william223petty@msn.com
Fire Protection
MultiCraft
Brian Funkhouser
812-336-5005
bfunk@multicraftdec.com
Plumbing Mechanical
Sexson Mechanical
Corey Stein
317-989-5486
cstein@sexsonmechanical.com
TPO Roofing, Sheet Metal,
Metal Wall Panels
Apogee
Matt Rosemond
765-810-3410
matt@buildapogee.com
Site Work and Site Utilities
Fox Contractors
Brian Kochesperger
317-281-8963
bkochesperger@foxcontractors.com

Construction Job Seekers

Click here to inquire about available construction jobs.

See Construction Jobs

Manufacturing Job Seekers

Click here to see open manufacturing jobs.

See manufacturing Jobs

The store will be a full-service supermarket with 14,000 square feet of space planned.